This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Ireland

Ireland is made up of 5 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Ireland. Information on all primary administrative regions in Ireland.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Ireland alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Ireland

There are 5 regions in Ireland in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Ireland
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Ulster Ulster1.2,101,164--
Leinster Leinster2.2,504,814Dublin Dublin1,024,027
Connaught Connaught3.542,547Gaillimh Gaillimh70,686
Munster Munster4.1,246,088Nenagh Nenagh5,500
Leinster Leinster5.2,504,814Swords Swords36,924